Easy Homemade Granola Bars!


IMG_20150904_212154

So yesterday I did our weekly grocery shopping, and every time I struggle to not buy cheap granola bars with a gazillion nasty additives in them, because John loves them and they are a great addition to his lunches which he often doesn’t have time to sit down to eat. Sometimes I wanna spend a fortune on the slightly better quality ones, but that pains me as well, so yesterday I decided to make my own! These were so simple and so easy,  my only complaint is that they are disappearing faster than store bought ones so I question how much trouble I am actually saving myself when next week comes around. I don’t find granola bars to be the health claim some people make, but these homemade ones sure beat the store ones in price,  taste, and lack of nasty artificial and processed ingredients!

20150905_092609

Here is my ingredient list:

Dry:

2 and 1/4 cup rolling oats

1/2 cup flour  (I used 1/4 cup wheat and 1/4 cup spelt)

1/2 tap baking soda

Wet:

1 tsp  vanilla

1 cup nut butter (I used half peanut butter half almond)

1/4 cup honey (I used raw,  local honey–yum)

1/4 cup water

1 cup additions of your choice (nuts, seeds, dried fruit pieces–I did chocolate chips!)

Directions: preheat oven to 325. Add nut butter, vanilla, and honey to food processor till combined. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and then add to wet ingredients, pulsing until combined, then scrape into bowl used to mic dry ingredients and mix in chosen additions with a spoon. Press into a 9 by 11 inch pan, wetting the back of the spoon to spread evenly. Here is where you may use the 1/4 cup water to help everything stick together; my batter needed it. Bake for 10-15 minutes (10 was fine for mine, they came out soft and chewy but still holding their shape;  longer would probably make them more a little more crunchy). Let cool 5 minutes in fridge,  cut into bars and store in Tupperware  (if they make it that far!). Enjoy!

One thought on “Easy Homemade Granola Bars!

Leave a Reply

